Council Staff and Professionals

The staff directory below is sorted alphabetically for your convenience.

John Akerman
Scout Executive/CEO
(919) 872-4884 x-240
Kevin Bartholomew
Director of Administration and Finance
(919) 872-4884 x 234
Tiffany Edmiston
Registrar/Eagle Desk
Office: (919) 872-4884 x-224
Eagle Desk: (919) 582-0065
Alicia Embrey
Finance Administrative Assistant
(919) 872-4884 x-247
Lauri Gillie
Program Adminstrative Assistant
(919) 872-4884 x-238
Lucy Grist
Development Director
(919) 215-2734
Lori Hirth
(919) 872-4884 x-223
Dona Johnston
Senior Executive Assistant
(919) 872-4884 x-222
Sara Langan
Development Administrative Assistant
(919) 872-4884 x-250
Desmond Miller
Senior New Unit Specialist
(919) 872-4884 x-245
Shaun Olynick
Director of Development
(919) 872-4884 x-229
John Phares
Chief Operating Officer
(919) 872-4884 x-243
(919) 812-5851

All office staff can be reached by dialing (919) 872-4884 and then dialing their three (3) digit extension.
Field employees may be dialed directly on their cell phones.

Council Office Information

The Occoneechee Council consist of 10 districts; each district is represented by a professional staff member.  The Raleigh Service Center and all Staff can be reached at the phone numbers listed below. Upon reaching the Service Center, one of our office staff will direct your call to the appropriate person for your needs.

Phone: 919-872-4884
Phone: 800-662-7102
Fax:      919-872-1159

Mailing and Street Address:
3231 Atlantic Avenue
Raleigh, North Carolina  27604

Hours of Council Office Operation:
Monday – Friday  8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Council Scout Shops

Our scout shops are proud to be part of BSA National Supply group to help provide scouting in our local area.

Occoneechee Scout Shop Hours: 9 am to 6 pm Monday – Friday & 10 am to 4 pm Saturday. Closed Sundays.
Phone: 919-850-0301
Phone: 888-421-4744
Fax: 919-850-0392